Google+ Update: Limit how your photos are shared

Friday
Today+Matt Steiner, from lead the engineering team for Google+ Photos just announce a new rolled out feature that allows for more privacy. If you want to have the ability to lock your albums to prevent them from being shared around Google+ then this feature is for you.

You can lock an album from two places — your Photos page, or album posts in the Stream — and when you do a few things happen:

- Viewers won’t be able to +mention new people
- Photo tags by viewers won’t expand who can see your album
- All of your posts about your album will also be locked

To lock an album from your Photos page:

1. Click Your albums
2. Click on the album
3. Click on who can currently view the album (e.g. Limited)
4. Check the Lock this album box
5. Click Save

Or from an album post in the Stream:

1. Find the post with the album you want to lock
2. Choose Lock this post from the drop-down menu located at the top right

In both cases the word “Locked” will appear, and that’s it! We’re always trying to make Google+ a safer and more comfortable place to share your photo memories. As always, please keep sending us your feedback. We’re always listening and iterating!

Thanks to +Kedar Kanitkar and +Dom Carr for making this feature happen!Collapse this post